What is your hit / miss ratio on coyotes?

dave3006

I went out today in the So. California high desert and hunted coyotes.

I made about ten 20 minute stands. I called in one double. Then, I missed at about 75 yards.

1. Just out of curiousity, out of every ten stands - how many times do you typically call in a coyote?

2. What percentage of the time are your shots successful?

I am still new at this game and have soooo much to learn. I want to get better. But, being in the outdoors by myself and just seeing the two coyotes come in today made the whole day worth it. I am hooked.

Our ratio went way up this year....during the Sept/Oct/Nov part of the season, we called yotes in on 70%-80% of the stands....It fell off some in Dec to about 40%, then back up to about 50-60% in Jan.....

We called in/shot 33 yotes and 4 bobcats this season.....I believe we missed 5 or 6 shots...

Joe

Depends on the area,some areas we call I would expect 4 or 5 coyotes or even more to come in. Other areas we would be very fortunate to call one in.As far as percentage goes we usually get about 75-80% of the coyotes we call in.Good Hunting Chad

I'm getting from your post how many yotes am I calling in on the stands? for Me not many. In past years I've had really good results night hunting "trolling" what I call it, but I go mostly for cats then. Hits are about 99.9%
Mike

I've shot 68 coyotes, called in 130, set ups 197, trips out was 42 days, eather all day " sunup to sun down" or some were half days. Thats from 1 october to 15 febuary.

The pups are out around here in Idaho. There was two hit on I-84 south of Boise last week.

So I will leave them alone till this fall. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif GENE'O