Would a 20" barrel be ok for 22-250?

JCnAR

I'm wondering if it would still have enough of the extra velocity/energy to make it worthwhile over a 223.

Yes, but it will be louder than a longer barrel.

I had a Winny Varmint Special in 22-250 cut down from 26" to 21" and the critters it took later never knew the bullets didn't come out of a longer barrel.

I did it to make it handier in the brush and the truck.

I'm no gun expert but...

With the relatively large case capacity of the .22-250 the longer barrel would get the full potential of the cartridge. I mean with the longer barrel you don't waste all the pressure from all the powder, (therefore also the reason for lower noise).

Quote:
I did it to make it handier in the brush and the truck.

That's why I would want a 20" barrel. I was thinking I might want to get a 22-250 but started wondering if I'd be better off with a 223 since I want to keep the barrel a bit shorter.

go for the 223. 20" 22-250 is a waste. you just wouldnt gain much and waste more powder. yes definitely more noise

From what I've read on test on barrel lengths is that you lose 25 - 35fps per inch. The main thing is accuracy. Bill Jordan once quoted someone saying "Speed is fine, accuracy is final!" /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

For a calling rifle you won't miss the extra barrel length.
24inchbarrel22-250.jpg

20inchbarrel22-250.jpg

My 22" 223 WSSM puts out factory loaded 55 gr. bullets 3800-3900 fps. Doesn't seem to lose too much velocity considering the relatively short barrel and added case volume compared to a 22-250.
Regarding muzzle blast it will be loud although more so to people standing around than you.

Last edited:
I'd like to see some real shooting over a real chronograph but hey it's your gun.

Chuchaholic, have you chronographed you 223wssm? My cousin just ordered a barrel and the guy at Accuracy systems said you lose too much velocity under 24" but he couldn't produce chronographed data.