22- 250 barrel life

creekhunter

any you guys shot out a barrel yet? just wondering about the avg. barrel life (22-250) rem. heavy barrel i think they are buttoned..i'm shooting about 3500fps 52 gr pills

Last edited:
Depends on your acceptable level of accuracy. The best way to tell is either buy a bore scope or have a riflesmith do it for you. It's really the only true way of telling just how shot out a bore is. Given your load specs and how hot you've let it get.....I'd say a safe bet would be 2000-3000 rds. I have limited experience with 250's but I do have a friend that shoots informal 400 yard silholette with a 250 and he has his re-barreled somewhere around 2000 rds.

Gari

I just rebarreled a Savage 22-250 that I owned for six years, I shoot prairie dogs alot, thousands of rounds a year, not all thru that gun but many. Based on my loading information and number of trips shooting my estimation is I shot that rifle about 6000 times. We were not kind to that orphan rifle.....many times I saw smoke curling out between the barrel and stock. Consider that I bought the rifle.....on the cheap from a desperate soul, used, he owned the gun for several years, maybe shot it 1000 times. If I am anywhere close the rifle saw no less than 7000 rds. I did not rebarrel it because it shot poorly, contrary it still scored hits way the hxll out there. I wanted a winter home project and the rebarrel was it.
My personal feeling is that a "shot out barrel" is one of the most common "mis diagnosed" gun problems there is. Unless you have a bore scope you are guessing.......

In some cases, you may not see a big difference in accuracy between a good barrel and one that is for the most part "shot out".