AR-15 Barrel Length?

Candidus

I am ready to make the move. Maybe I have been watching too much Byron South or maybe I just need a break from my 26" VSSF, but I am ready to go AR. What is a good barrel length for an AR-15 used for predator hunting? It has been posted that the 16" is too loud. Also, how much velocity/range am I giving up if I go with a 16" instead of a 20" or 24" barrel? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

I have a Bushmaster 16" modular. I Love the gun. I can hold my own with the longer barrels but it all comes with practice.

Most my shots are under 100 yds anyway. I like letting them get "In your face" close and its hard to beat the fast handling of the AR. If you do more spot and stalk or open range gunning then a longer barrel might be for you. I got the gun to fill a void between my bolt action and my shotgun. It has filled it perfectly. Fast, accurate, easliy handled, good follow ups, fast out of the case and easy to deploy. I would give up my other guns before this one.

You do tend to get some wierd looks though.

Tim

In my honest opinion, if you plan on doing any amount of walking with it (i.e. more than half a mile) don't get a barrel longer than 20".

I've been thinking about building up another 20" just for hunting. I have 2 16" ARs and 2 20" ARs and they're both loud. I've never fired them back to back to figure out which is louder, but I only hunt with my 16" carbines.

They're light and handy.

WIZZO

I just got this one in a 20 inch. If you're going to carry it for any distance the 20 inch and under rule should apply.
var2.jpg

Quote:
I only hunt with my 16" carbines.

WIZZO: Why do you grab your 16" opposed to the 20" for hunting? And why are you now building/going with a 20" for hunting?

Candidus,

Half the fun is using a gun you like - if it has enough accuracy to do the task at hand. It depends on what type of hunting you are doing and at what range. Consider the level of accuracy you need, and then choose.