Ruger #1 in 300 WSM

Wolfen

I have a Ruger #1 action and want to set it up for some heavy shooting.
I'm seeing some threads that suggest it won't hold up to a 300 WSM.
Anyone out there have some experience with either the Ruger #1 action and or the 300 WSM?

Also, as a reloader, I plan on exploring the apparent wide range of possibilities of this cartridge with low weight bullets as well.

I can't imagine that the action won't stand for a 300WSM. The Ruger #1 Tropicals are available in stuff like 375 H&H, 416 Rigby etc and the #1 Standard is available in 300 Win Mag, 338 Win Mag, 300 Wby mag etc. I wouldn't think a 300WSM would pose any problems.

The case head diameter of the 300WSM is .535, whereas the 300 Win Mag, 338 Win Mag etc have a case head of .532, which is .003 smaller than the WSM. The 416 Rigby however has a diameter of .590, which is considerably larger than the WSM.

The falling block action is very strong and, although I'm no expert, I just can't see a problem here. Somebody may correct me though.

Thanks bacova and Mauser for the comments.

I am of the same opinion as you. However, some others think it not advisable and even Ruger doesn't seem to like the set up. Has something to do with body taper and subsequent undesirable bolt thrust characteristics. FYI - See article on E. Arthur Brown Company, Inc. web at http://www.eabco.com/WSM01.htm

I don't know if I buy into this or not. However, the destruction of an excellent Ruger #1 action is a little steep for being wrong.

I have not been able to get much more detail on the issue beyond the one at Arthur Brown Co. I hope my concerns will bring attention to this issue with the WSM's.

I guess anything's possible Wolfen. In looking through the Ruger catalog I see there are no #1s offered in any of the WSM cartridges. As popular as the WSMs are there must be a reason Ruger hasn't offered any.