scat:coyote or dog

Coyote scat is usually long with a taper at the end. Also look for rabbit hair, bone fragments, and things of that nature in it(means go ahead and get a stick and play around in it . We all have ;o) ). Look for a track near it. A dogs track is round with the two outside toes pointing straight forward while the yote toes will be pointed outwards.. Like Bill Bynum says " all good coyote hunters know their scat" lol. See ya ..James L.

Andrew, I'm still kinda new to this art of coyote hunting, been doing it for 4 years now, but I do know my poop.
Most often I see juniper berries in the scat along with hair and god knows what else.
These animals eat anything.
It is very tapered and looks nothing like a domestic dog in my opinion.
I got a Lab and his is nothing like the yotes.
If you have a dog and feed it a regular diet of dry food or canned, just compare the two and you'll see the difference.

Taste test, DEFINATELY! YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!

------------------
Insanity is doing the same thing time and time again while expecting a different result.

Ok, if thats the only way, the thats the only way. I will have to make sure I have some strong mints or the misses wont be to happy.

ROFLMAO>>>>>>> there ya go again Encore, leading these poor newbies astray ;o) Taste test!!!lol I can tell ya for sure andrew that if your honey sees you with that in your mouth it will take more than mints ...... Seriously though I have seen some pretty big yote scat. If you get one with a little dog bred into him the scat will look a lot like a dogs but will still have all the hair and bones in it. Of course if a dog is catching rabbits regularly his will have the same appearence of bone frags, and hair. It can be a delimea but at that time you have to consider " Could it be a dog?". If there are houses near it is possible but if you are out in the country a good ways it probably isn't. James L.

"How can I tell the diff between coyote poop and dog poop when hunting or scouting?"