Flat-base vs boat-tail

GLMyers

I haven't seen a lot of discusion on bullet types and accuracy. Are there any basic arguments on flat-base bullets vs boat-tail? What does most of the benchrest crowd go with?

Boat tails usually have a better BC which helps at the longer ranges. Most BR shooters use the flat base bullets only because they are mostly shooting at 100 and 200 yards.

A buddy of mine and I have discussed this topic at great length. Since the boattail design is really only a benefit at extreme ranges, albeit, not even that much of an advantage, we have always felt that the flat base was a better design based on how the energy force hits the bullet as it leaves the case. With a flat base bullet you have less of a chance that the force will hit a wierd angle and launch the bullet into the rifling cockeyed. I am no scientist, but I shoot a ton and feel better with a flat base bullet. Just my opinion. Problem is that the current trend is towards the boattail, so can't always get what you want. Also, I think the benchrest guys shoot what performs best and that seems to be flatbase bullets. I will take accuracy and speed over all else.......That's just me.

Yap...I agree with what SamSpade says!
Also like what NV30378 says also: "I think the benchrest guys shoot what performs best and that seems to be flatbase bullets".

A flat-based bullet will out shoot any boat-tail in less than 300 yards....Hands down. All your top br bullet makers...ei. Fowler, BIB, Euber, Cheek...are making flat-based bullets. Boat-tails are meant for longer ranges. Think about a Quaterback throwing a pass. As the football initially leaves his hand the ball kinda rotates off axis, but as the ball travels further down range it will start to true up.

Gari

Sometimes I think the only reason for a boattail is that it reloads a little bit easier. Six of one, half dozen of another--either way, it's makes about the same sense.