Give me some tips

d2admin

Administrator
I'm totally new to this coyote hunting thing and I would appreciate some tips. A farmer asked me to kill the jacks and coyotes in a 500 acre mellon field. I've never hunted coyotes before, so I read up a little bit and bought a rabbit in distress call.

Yesterday I went out, found a great spot, and tried that call. I was out there for about the last hour of daylight, wind in my face, facing the tree line I was told they were coming in from.

I never saw a damn thing! Figuring I wasn't working the call right, I went back to my truck about 300 yards behind me.

When I got there I was stunned to see coyote tracks all around my truck. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

Well, at least my calling wasn't too bad after all. :rolleyes:

Welcome to PM Kelly.

Just dig in and get to reading. If you have any specific questions, ask away and someone will help you out. Lots of very knowledgable people here.

Watermelon fields are magnets for coyotes. You should have a great place to hunt. I certainly don't call something every time. Just watch and don't overcall the area. If they bust you there a lot harder to call. When the watermelon or ripe these are good places to just sit and wait on coyotes without calling.

Welcome and Good Hunting

Byron /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

kelly,

i dunno if byron forgot to mention or not but there is a HUGE topic on calling in the east and the name of the thread is "calling tactics and sounds" if you go there there's ALMOST everything there that ya need to kno...

-PPH-