I'm not having any luck....

margi

Maybe I'm not as good at this as i thought. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif I get up early and scan the fields near my home. I've tried calling with a rabbit in distress call and also a howler to locate. Nothing. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smiliesmack.gif I know there are coyotes out there. Is it a time of day issue perhaps? Although I have some experience, I would still consider myself a novice at this Yote hunting.

Are you sure there are yotes? Cause you can call a field all you want, but if theres nothing there, then your just wasting your breath.

Yotes are most active at Dusk and Dawn thats when most of the deer are moving around too. Where theres deer or rabbits/ground squirls there will be dogs.
Also there most active between Jan-March thats there breeding season the howler will work good then...
hope I could help Fawn Distress is a good one too

They have a habit of humbling people don't they?

Where do you live? Are there other people that call in that area that you know of? If there are, that can put a damper on things.

I've had luck this time of year using pup distress sounds and pouring the emotion to it on my howler. It's a good change up sound that all ages of coyotes have come in to. It may help if they've been pressured.

As far as time of day, the last two hours of datlight are king for me. It doesn't allow much time to hunt but it's proven to be very efficient this year in this area and has saved me a lot of wondering.

Brad