fox pic, snares were good to me last night

fishermann222

Went out and set some snares yesterday and some foot traps as well. Here is a pic of one of my snare sets

IMG_0299.jpg

I have a question I am hoping someone can answer. I am new to leg hold traps. I set out 4 of them yesterday and 3 were tripped and thrashed all around. all I found was some fur at the site of all three. What am I doing wrong? Are they freezing up slightly and that is slowing them down from snapping shut? any help would be apprecaited. I am starting to think some of hte fox out here are like houdini.

Last edited:
That is an excellent photo. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif Very nice.

I'll go out on a limb here until the trapping posse shows up, and say that I'm betting your sets were dug up. If you leave any sign of something being a amiss, or even some scent from not wearing gloves...they'll get paranoid and dig em up quite often.

Thanks for the advice, The fox here are pretty stupid, nobody traps them except for me. They even roam the village during the night. I am trapping them at the local dump, so human scent is everywhere. What are the best ways to keep them from digging them?

Last edited:
What size leghold traps are you using? are the springs strong? it could be a weak trap, or too small of a trap, or if they werent dyed and waxed they may be slightly freezing as you mentioned...lots of possibilities. Great job getting 3 out of 4 sprung though.....definetally good placement.

I agree with RR. for that many to get dug up sounds like they were contamainated(sp) dirty. and like night said darn good placement boil your traps and wax them and you'll be in business...Charles

I am new to using the foot traps, Do I order the wax from a trapping supply place? with my snares I boil them in water with some tundra, should I do the same with foot holds?