coyote hunting in nevada

wysongdog

Hey guys I am brand new to this web stuff, so bear with me, but I was wondering if anyone knew any good areas around elko,nevada. I am heading there the first weekend in Dec. for a coyote hunt and have never hunted there before. Thanks

Looks like the Nevada group is a bit tight lipped about their favorite hunting sites. Can't say I blame them, but you know the coyotes are there. Seek and Ye Shall Find!

I have never hunted the elko area. I know there are descent numbers in that area along with alot of hunters and trappers. The world calling contest is to be held in that area shortly so there will even be more hunters. Good luck to you.

My son and I just returned from Nevada east of Wendover. Left home at 3 am this morning and just got home 8pm.. Drove 518 miles, made about 10 calls and no dogs. did see one eating a dead rabbit on I-15 going up the P pass east of state line, but still too dark to shoot. Not sure if it was me or just one of those days. Did the same as I've always done and scored.

Also see a big red fox 3 miles from my house as I left home this monring..

Shunked but still had a great day. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

I've been told by a number of NV hunters that there are NO coyotes left in the entire state, so you may as well not even try, LOL.

Seriously, I called in a pair a couple of weeks ago, within a 1/2 mi of the rest area on I-80 just west of Emigrant Pass (mile marker 256 or so), and have gotten very good responses to howling in the Carlin area.

The pair I called in are still there, LOL, I don't carry a rifle on my truck and so, on those rare occasions when I can find the time, and a suitable location I can get near with a big truck, I "reward" them with a can of cat food (cheap) so as not to make them call shy for others.