Welding machines

burris

I did not know exactly where to make this post but I figured that here was as good as any since it seems that we have quite a few welders that check the night hunting section because of all the postiive feedback on "killing chairs". I am in the market for a welding machine to be used to fabricate high racks or killing chairs and several other projects that I have in mind. I have been told that I should go with a wire fed type of welder and that the Hobart brand is a good one that can be found at the Tractor Supply near me. I have very little experience welding and I am sure it will take me some time to get it down. I dont need one with a generator just one that can be pluged into say a 220 outlet like your clothes drier plugs into, because I will do all the work in my garage. Can someone point me into the right direction on what to look for or what I might need? I want the cost to be kept under around $700.00. If there is any other info. that I can provide just let me know, like I said I am new to this but ya got to start somewhere. Thanks for any feedback. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

Back in the 1960's, I made my living as a welder and that was a long time ago. If you are welding new metal with little or no rust coating, the wire feed welders are the way to go. They won't strike an arc through a painted surface, or a surface with much rust coating. They sure do a fine job of welding, and in my experience they are easier to learn than the old "stick" welder that I have in my garage now. Be aware that your new "mig" welder will need a tank of Argon/c02 mixture, so keep that in mind when pricing your welding machine. Here is a link to some Hobart welders http://www.hobartwelders.com/products/mig/