I need a .223 load close to a .22 hornet

bigben

I need help with a load that will work on fox without blowing them in half. i was thinking that it is possible to load a .223 down to a .22 hornet. I was thinking on a nosler balistic tip around 40gr. or would a Pointed soft point bullet work better? any info would be great as to primers powder and bullet selection. I am a newbie to reloading but my father done it 20 yrs agoa and has the equipment the only thing i need is a set of dies. the gun will be a eea bakial izh94 .223/12ga w 1:12 twist. look a couple topics down to get the whole story. thanks in advance.

I think it's this month's Guns and Ammo magazine that has a section on downloading. The goal of the article was to shoot more by reducing the speed and using lead slugs, but the concept remains the same. Reducing speed though the use of smaller charges of faster burning powder. The reduced speed should lessen noise and reduce terminal velocity and energy, thus not tearing the fox apart. Sorry I don't have an example for your 223 but if you use Varget, a good medium speed rifle powder, you'd need to change to a faster burning pistol powder like HS-6. I'm sure others will have better examples or a specific load---Good Luck

Be vary careful of using reduced loads in the 223 to get Hornet velocities. Especially if using pistols powders. I have heard of BAD THINGS happening.

OTOH, Hodgdon may have some published loads on there website.

Reduced loads can be very dangerous. The chances that you could get do double charge are great.
That being said I've worked up a nice load using Blue Dot.
The way I do it is as soon as I drop the powder I go ahead and seat a bullet. I hand weigh EACH charge. Go look around at www.jamescalhoon.com/ under articles.
I can not stress this enough be very very careful.

Ron