Bobcat Hunters

Mtns2hunt

How do you locate Bobcats? Everything I read says find scat or tracks. In the West where its open it may be possible to find tracks. But scat? Do cats mostly bury their scat? I hunt mostly in the East for cats and its thick and overgrown with heavy leaf flooring. I follow creek bottoms looking for tracks in wet dirt or sand. Mostly I find Coyote tracks. I never find scat except for coyote.

I have been hunting cats for a couple years. So far, I am 1 down and one missed. I cheat and use trail cameras but really want to know how others do it. Thanks for any advice.

I would not presume to call myself a bobcat hunter as all I have taken came in while I was calling coyotes. Early this year I had 3 in sight at the same time, I elected to let the small one ease on out as I thought it was probably a female, perhaps carrying young. A prolonged hunt with more patience than I can usually muster allowed me to harvest the other 2, both toms. I think I harvested 6 total and each hunt was fascinating.

They leave scat in the same types of places as coyotes and foxes. Look for activity/trails on saddles and overlooks. Look for scat on rocks, trails, etc. They'll often return to the same spot repeatedly over time to leave scat. All of the stomachs I've cut open were full of the nastiest smelling black goo that was full of bird beaks, feathers, and feet, and crawling balls of parasitic worms.

Originally Posted By: DiRTY DOGThey leave scat in the same types of places as coyotes and foxes. Look for activity/trails on saddles and overlooks. Look for scat on rocks, trails, etc. They'll often return to the same spot repeatedly over time to leave scat. All of the stomachs I've cut open were full of the nastiest smelling black goo that was full of bird beaks, feathers, and feet, and crawling balls of parasitic worms.