Load Development With New Brass

CalCoyote

In the days that we are currently living in supplies on primers and powder are limited and who knows when if things will EVER get back to what it used to be. For that reason I do not want to waste powder and primers. With that in mind here is my question:

I have noticed that there are differences in shoulder headspace of new brass. Not as much with premium brass like Lapua or Nosler, but there is still a difference. I was prepping some new Winchester brass for the 243 and found that the shoulder headspace had a variance of approx .006 apart.

How much difference does this variance make in group size?

Can I use new brass for load development or do I need to waste primers and powder to fire them once so that I can bring them all into them same shoulder headspace?

Hopefully this makes sense. I am not too good at explaining things.

It will make a difference in group size. A change in length of .006 will make your primers go off different, and it will make your seating depths random. If you have an expander mandrel for .25 or 6.5 cartridge, you could expand the neck, and then set your .243 die up short, and resize your cases so there is just a slight resistance to the bolt closing and do your load development from there. There's also the the Hornady Hydro Sizer that will expand your cases just like fireforming.

Originally Posted By: FC363It will make a difference in group size. A change in length of .006 will make your primers go off different, and it will make your seating depths random. If you have an expander mandrel for .25 or 6.5 cartridge, you could expand the neck, and then set your .243 die up short, and resize your cases so there is just a slight resistance to the bolt closing and do your load development from there. There's also the the Hornady Hydro Sizer that will expand your cases just like fireforming.