Questions on Primers

champ198

I'm still pretty new with reloading for rifles.
I used to have a 7mm Rem Mag and at the time I was acquiring loading components for it. So I have about 800 Large Magnum Rifle primers.
With the slim availability to get primers now am I able to use them in place of a normal Large Rifle primer?

Again I'm still new with reloading rifles but I always just assumed they were for Magnum calibers only.

Start at minimum loads and work up. If you have access to a chronograph this is a great time to utilize it. Federal 215’s are know to be the hottest magnum primers so if yours are such keep that in mind. See if you can trade someone in your area for the primers you need.

Use 'em and rock on.

Also, Google "magnum primers in a 7 mag", and you'll find plenty of reading to occupy a couple hours......

Originally Posted By: GofaaastStart at minimum loads and work up. If you have access to a chronograph this is a great time to utilize it. Federal 215’s are know to be the hottest magnum primers so if yours are such keep that in mind. See if you can trade someone in your area for the primers you need.

Indeed start low and work up your Loads with the Magnmum Primers . If you have access to Sierria's Reloading data (5th edition) they give fed 215 in the load data for their receipes. but there again everyone will say to use the starting loads to check for pressure.which is wise.

I have had good luck with IMR4064 215 primers and 140grs bullets. good accuarcy, deer DRT. My Son still uses this load for his deer hunting when i handed him that rem 700, dies etc to roll his own.

here is a link to sierria's newer publish data for that cartridge which includes the newer powder and bullets for the 7 mag. (they changed to Winchester Mag Primers for the data)

https://sierrabullets.files.wordpress.com/2018/03/7mm-remington-magnum2.pdf

But one Can use Plain Large Rifle Primers by using powders that are normally used for say the 30-06/ 308.