Ar coyote build

Fadetoblack213

Looking to start a build for a dedicated coyote rifle.

Couple question I am new to this.

16 or 18 inch barrel.

Also torn between these three rounds. 223, 6.5 Grendel , or 224 valkyrie

What do you guys think. I do own a 223 already so probably my last choice

When it comes to the AR15 there are several chamberings to choose from, .223, 6.5Grendel, 6.8SPC, 6mm ARC, and a few others.

Personally, I just like to shoot different stuff so I have all the above plus some others like the 6mmx45mm and .30HRT/TAC 30.

If you don't reload, the .223 is a winner for obvious reasons. If you do reload, the others can be shot fairly affordable considering.

As far as 16" vs./ 18", I have both, use both, and inside 300 yards to me it's a wash as far as one being better than the other.

Botton line... they will all get the job done.

Being you are from NY, I'm guessing you don't need a lot of long range capabilities? Maybe see more foxes than coyotes?

If my assumptions are correct, I'd go with the 223 to save the fox, but you did say 'dedicated coyote rifle' so throw out my opinion if you don't worry about saving fox fur or coyote fur.

My current go to rig is my 204, which would be a nice NY cartridge I'd think. Sure kills coyotes.

Personally I have 2 identical uppers, 1 with a 3-9 Nikin for day use, other with an Armasight Nemesis for night. Both are 18.5" with the rifle length gas system, I just put the suppressor on whichever one I head out door with.

I have used all three you mentioned. Obviously 223 is most readily available ammo and does just fine in coyotes. Grendel is good. I loaded 90 grain Speer tnt for coyotes. It’s my main deer rifle now. Harder to find ammo. Also have Valkyrie. Killed plenty with 60grain stuff. The 78 grain Barnes are absolute hammers if you can find them.