What has greater Priority? Handheld thermal scanner or Mounted thermal scope?!

Rhino20

I am looking at getting a Thermal scope. The just released AGM Varmint LRF series looks interesting. Anyone know much about these? I know they are the Hikmicro Panthers rebranded.

BUT, as I am looking at getting a Thermal scope I am told that you must have a handheld scanner as well.

So my question is this: If I have a quality scope can one get a less expensive thermal handheld scanner that may not identify, but will spot a something and then use the scope to identify?
OR
Is it better to get the higher end hand held and spend less on the scope?
Thanks for any and all advice!

Last edited:
I don't have the experience of others on this forum, but if I had to pick, I would want a better scanner than scope.

When hunting, I use the scope for 30 seconds, and my scanner non stop.

I'm also pretty new to this, my gear consists of a Super Hogster to shoot with and a Hogster R25 to scan.

I'm perfectly happy with the SH to shoot, even though it's 384 resolution, the 3x base mag is enough for most situations I've encountered. Long shots are tough to determine how far, but 200 is easy enough.

The smaller R25 is 1.4 base mag and it leaves me wanting a bit in our open terrain. I love the little scope for other reasons, like close range small varmint control on a 22, but I will eventually upgrade to a higher power scanner.

I got the SH first, and scanned with the rifle. A buddy still does this, and imo it sucks. You are dedicated to standing and circling a tripod all stand long. So I'm very glad to have something to scan with, but would go with 2x minimum next time.

JMO

Between option A and option B go with option A. That's what most of us did and are still doing unless one can afford the good scanner also.