OSS Helix review

BrianID

I'm putting this review up to help anyone else that was considering the OSS Helix as an option. I purchased OSS Helix QD 762 and OSS Helix QD 762 Ti. I have had them for a few months and I'm very happy with then so far. I've used them in 5 guns so far (AR15 5.56 with 16" barrel, AR15 223 wylde with 22" barrel, AR15 300 blackout pistol with 10" barrel, AR15 300 blackout with 16" barrel and AR10 6mm Creedmoor with 22" barrel). I will soon test the 762 Ti on a 300 win mag.

I already have a Thunderbeast Ultra 7 in 6.5 cal and Thunderbeast Ultra 9 in 338 cal that I've been using for about 2 years. I'm very happy with the Tunderbeast Ultras but was looking for something with less "blowback" on an AR gas system. There is without a doubt less blowback from the OSS than the thunderbeast on my AR's.

With the exception of subsonic 300 blackout rounds I still use hearing protection while target practicing with all my suppressors. From what I've noticed, the OSS and Thunderbeast are equally quite. The Helix does have extra area for gas to escape on the downrange side of the suppressor so I wouldn't be surprised if the Helix causes more noise than the thunderbeast downrange.

The Helix and Thunderbeast don't seem to have any significant impact on accuracy on any of my guns. I've shot repeatable 1/2 MOA 5 shot groups with both the Helix and thunderbeast suppressors.

I do prefer the quick detachment on the OSS over the thunderbeast because the OSS screws on counterclockwise. I do have a concern that on my 300 win mag smaller break on the OSS Helix will not reduced recoil as much as the larger break on the 338 thunderbeast ultra 9.

I hope this review will help someone that is considering the OSS Helix. If I have any significant new information that I think will be useful for anyone considering the OSS Helix I will post an update in the future.