What matters and what doesn't? Also, should I mask scent with urine?

happypappy

I've been hunting with my friend since I was a freshman in highschool, I'm 23 now, and everything I've learned is through mistakes, nobody we knew coyote hunted and most didn't really deer hunt either. So I'm not even close to knowing half of what I need to, but I think I know more than when I started.
Now I live somewhere else and I recently met someone from California who has never been hunting but loves shooting and fishing and has always wanted to hunt. We've been out a good few times, but the only time we saw anything was 30 min after dark through my nightscope that I don't currently have a gun for.
Anyways, he tromps around through the desert I swear trying to step on every piece of wood possible making as much noise as he can. I try to hang real low and take any way I can so that we're never on the horizon, but I'll be crouching and he'll just keep walking over like bigfoot even though I've mentioned the importance to him before. I don't have the best camo to match the landscape, but he doesn't have any and doesn't really like wearing mine, not sure why. And then he moves his head and hands a lot, scratches his hair, etc. while we're sitting in stand.
I don't want him to feel like I'm getting on him constantly and burn him out, but I also don't want to never call anything in and burn us both out.

These are all important, right? Are there things I should try and start with first or are we hardly going to get anything until they're all fixed? Any advice?