new build caliber options

MISportsman

Between extra parts and a good deal on a stag-15 blemished lower I'm starting another build. I however can't decide on a caliber. I already have a 5.56, 6.5 grendel, and just finished a .450 bushmaster build. I'm kind of looking into 6.8 spc, but also considering 7.62x39 even though I have a sks or possibly even another 6.5 grendel. I do hunt deer and hogs with most if my ARs. Thoughts???

What’s going to be your primary use for the rifle? I have no experience with hogs, but 6.8SPC is good for deer. If you’re looking to get into a varmint/predator setup, 22 Nosler and 204 Ruger would be top of the list. I’ve been back and forth on trying the 6mm ARC myself.

Do you reload? If so, that opens up the options.

Probably deer and hogs will be my primary use. I have been told good things about the 6mm arc, but I'm not sold. Seems to be a good varmint round, but not sure on bigger. I do reload which is one of the appeals of the 6.8, but I'm very open to other options.

For factory produced ammo 22 Nosler or 6 arc no shorter than 20" . I would only be interested in a slower twist 6 arc that will handle the 55 to 75 grain pills. I much prefer the 6 mm wildcats done on the 6.8 case but nothing available from the factory.

Last edited:
Well, just for fun, do a 6x45. Sweetest little AR round you'll ever play with. Deer or hog, it'll whack em. Very easy to load and extremely accurate.

If I were to build something other than, I'd go in the direction of a .243 LBC for the more breezy days and or bigger game.

I've often thought a .20 prac would be pretty sweet, easy and fun for smaller varmints. I guess alot depends on what you want to do with it.

Originally Posted By: Foxpro.223If I were to build something other than, I'd go in the direction of a .243 LBC for the more breezy days and or bigger game.

I've often thought a .20 prac would be pretty sweet, easy and fun for smaller varmints. I guess alot depends on what you want to do with it.