Savage cartridge swap

Beanzdog

Newbie here to this sub-topic but I'm hoping the predator masters community can shed some light on a question I have.I've got a savage 110 id like to swap over to .308 from 6.5cm. The reason I'm doing this is because I can't hardly find(or really afford in these crazy times) 6.5cm but can find plenty of 308 where I'm at. My question is how hard would it be to switch calibers? Would I be better off financially just getting another rifle in 308? I've never modified any firearms before but I would like to think I'm somewhat mechanically inclined. I've also looked into what kind of special tools I'd need and so far all I see is a set of go/no go gauges, a barrel nut wrench, and an action vice. Is there anything else?

I kinda sorta get the idea but am asking out of an abundance of caution. Really I just don't want to blow myself and my gun up by trying to save a quick buck

You have the parts list down well but I would suggest a barrel vise to make it easier on yourself. I use a GO Gauge to set mine up and after the first time or two it will be easy for you. The hardest part I had was popping the barrel nut loose on the first swap. Short 18" piece of 2" square stock worked well on mine. Be sure and put some card stock or something around the barrel to keep the vise from marking it up.

If you start getting into the process and end up with various barrels etc. and different bolt heads you may have to adjust firing pin protrusion. There are a ton of picture illustrated directions on the net on how to do that. I've taken Magnum action and put a 223 barrel on it but the extra time involved was only maybe five minutes to set that.