MidSouth has 60gr V-max in stock

Hellgate

A heads up for the coyote hunters: MidSouth Shooters Supply has .224 cal 60 grain Hornady V-max in stock right now. They are my go to coyote bullet in the .223.

They’ll sell out in about 15 minutes like they always do. I think I still have 10 or 12 boxes laying around from a few years ago I have not opened yet and a little over 600 rounds still loaded up so I’m good to go.

Last edited:
I bought some on SUNDAY and they are still listed in stock now 4 or 5 days later. I'm surprised they didn't get snatched up. I hesitated about a year ago when they got in some Sierra 63gr SMP which also shoot very well but they were gone the next day.

Looks like the ammo/reloading shortage is starting to get a little better. I've noticed more availability the last couple weeks than I have in a long time. Hopefully it continues to improve.

I have never tried these before. I loaded up a couple batches today. 1 lot with Varget and 1 lot with AR-Comp.

26.5 grains of Varget dropped from a 6 inch drop tube is very compressed.

Will post results and velocities when i can.

I tried Varget, AR-Comp and AA 2015.

AA 2015 was the clear winner. Huge accuracy window with velocity around 2935fps out of an 18 inch barrel.

I never thought this bullet would be so accurate!

My 1st run out of a minor clean was with AA2015, & printed a 5 shot 1/2" group. My second 5 shot group would have been in the 3's if it were not for one flier that made it a .6.......

3rd group was a .7 and the last 5 shot group would have been a .8 but a flier made it come in just under an inch.

This was using mixed WW brass with multiple unknown firings, & Federal AR match primers.

Varget and AR-Comp would do a .8, then a 1.2 etc and kind of be all over.

I have never seen a powder change make such a huge difference as this.

It was 80°+ and i started to see a bit of pressure at 24.0 grains with velocities around 3000+ fps.