How can I lighten a Ruger 10/22 trigger?

sage_yote

I have a Ruger 10/22 (this one, standard)
I would like to lighten the trigger pull down to 2 1/2 to 3 pounds with no creep. I was looking at the volquartsen 10/22 hammer that is supposed to reduce pull to about 2 1/2 pounds. Would this do the trick and does a gunsmith have to install it? I am fairly new to gun assembly and such. Thanks for the help.

The Volquartsen hammer will lighten it to about 2 1/2lb., but will not eliminate the creep. Installing the hammer is not to hard, but after installing it, make sure the safety works. The only sure way to get rid of the creep is to buy a Kidd trigger assemble.

I just put a Clark trigger system in a target model 10-22 and added a Volquartsen extended release last week. The Volquartsen hammer will obviously do the job too. The pull is just right for most people.

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=5020

The kit, or any hammer is easy enough to install. If you look at your Ruger manual for disassembly/parts, you have a basic road map of how things go together if you get lost. Just lay everything out in sequence as you take it apart. Having a punch that is close to the pins makes the job much easier as you can retain parts while slipping others in, and also use it to recompress the hammer spring back in place while you slide the pin above it back in.

As K22 mentioned, be sure that everything functions as it should before shooting it.

-MP

the Ruger 10/22 isn't a hard gun to work on a little reshaping of the sear engagement and polishing of contact areas of both the hammer and the sear is all it takes. I don't mind any creep so I did the work myself. After market stuff wasn't worth the expense to me when I already have a Dremel.

t/c223encore.