Unloading reloaded ammo

H82Miss

A buddy of mine told me he has about 50 rounds of 300 Win mag ammo that his brother "reloaded" for him and he said "it's not loaded right."
He asked me if I could unload it for him and salvage what I can.
I'm very new to reloading and have never "unloaded" ammo.
Is it as simple as pulling the bullets, dumping the powder in a container, and... what to do with the primers?
Thanks for any info, sounds simple but I really don't want to blow myself up on account of not knowing what I don't know.

It's really that simple. If he knows what primers were used just leave them and resize without removing them if they fit your needs. If they are unknown then decap gently wearing glasses and dispose of them in the trash.

Greg

Last edited:
You will need either a hammer style bullet puller, a collet style or a Grip N Pull style. I currently use both the Grip N Pull and hammer style with good results. Be careful and wear glasses and ear pro. If its been loaded recently, I doubt you will have any issues. If you know the powder used, salvage it and use it in plinking loads. Primers can either be left in OR remove them and toss em. Me personally, If I dont prime the case myself, I decap and reprime. If you do remove the primers, a standard decapping die can be used without issue, just dont ram it up in there super fast.

The collet and gripper dies are a lot faster than the hammer. I have all of them and rarely use the hammer.

Originally Posted By: BearThe collet and gripper dies are a lot faster than the hammer. I have all of them and rarely use the hammer.

Much faster and far better job. I like the Hornady model collet die personally.

throw the powder away, how would you be sure of what it was? Primers, I'd reuse them for plinking loads. I'd full length size the brass and start from scratch.