Thermal and Red lights

Jim A.

Just curious of others opinions. I’m just getting into calling coyotes, and I’m using my thermal equipment we normally use for hog control. Only problem is with hogs the shots are generally at shorter ranges with plenty of running targets. My thermal’s 3.5x magnification is great for that application. However, in my country I could possibly shoot 400-500 yards if one hung up, on average more like 100 to 200. I’d like to have a bit more magnification for these shots. My thought was I could use my thermal viewer to scan while calling, and put a scope mounted red light on a bolt action 22-250. Once he’s in range, flip on my red light and lower it down on the coyote, and shoot. My question here is if this will spook them when the red light comes on suddenly? Don’t know much about this, thanks for any help you can provide.

I’ve killed them with a red light but spooked more than I killed. Our coyotes in the east are pretty light sensitive. I would probably just kill what I could with the thermal. Probably wouldn’t hurt to try it one night but in my very humble, inexperienced, opinion, there’s nothing like thermal. Just my experience. More experienced guys may know better than me and have different advice.

Find who's successful and emulate them, I think you'll find one of the most successful on the forum shoots with less magnification than you. Couple hundred yards is nothing for a 3.5x thermal. I don't think you will be shooting 4-500 yards with red lights. Most guys go to NV and thermal because of the adverse reactions to red lights. You'd be going backwards IMO.

Last edited:
I'm also in GA Jim. Not sure of your location and dont have any experience with red lights but I guess you can try and see what happens. Might work fine but I know yotes in my neck of the woods are somewhat sensitive to IR light so perhaps they might be even more sensitive to a red light.