Am I seeing some kind of trend?

jetman

I'm not a pro, and I'm not as good as some, But I do manage to kill a "Few" coyotes a year. We have made 66 sets without a coyote. Be for that we had a string of about a month with nothing, I did shoot one that broke that string but it must have been a Flook.
We see very little sign and a few tracks sometimes. The lack of rabbets seem way out of place too.
We seldom see any road dogs, seen from the truck.
LOTS of hawks and owls, And way above numbers of crows.
I don't know if any of this is related to the lack of coyotes.
We have been hunting 100% public land, but most of it is very remote with little to no farming/ranching we can see.
During deer hunting, we would hear some, sometimes but not anything like normal. The roadkill and gut piles have birds all over them but seldom a coyote track. They're not "Hanging up. there just not coming in. I don't know what to think. It's their rut right now and we still are coming up blank.
I just don't know what's going on.

I suspect they're just aren't many coyotes around.

Lack of food? The rabbits had a BIG die-off from some disease, except around my house I still have tons.

I have not seen or heard of anything affecting coyote, like distemper but maybe.

HMMM
I'm baffled.

have you seen signs of mange?

what you wrote could of been written by me. no rabbits to speak of for about 10 years now.

i will add that we have had a bad drought going on for many years and mange is huge in the coyotes around here. everything is working against good coyote numbers.

I’m not sure where you’re hunting but I went out yesterday. Did 8 sets and never called in a single coyote or heard any. Saw one on a set that was 1050 years away. However driving between sets I saw 14.