Help me pick a rifle.

42769vette

Sponsor
I'm just getting into thermal's, and have a super hogster on the way. I'm tore between what gun to use. This will be used on a tripod with Acra swiss mounts, suppressed.

Option 1

556, 20 inch AR, with Mlok arca adaptor. I've got 55gr Vmax's to load up for this. It has the advantage of being semi auto for follow-up shots, but I HATE precision reloading for a semi auto. Gun shoots MOAish. I do not have, and cant find H-322. Ill have to use Ramshot, AA2230, Varget, or H-4198. (probably Ramshot or 2230 as I load this progressive)

Option 2

I have a Tikka T3 in 243 that I don't use for anything. I have 90gr ELD-x bullets, and piles of powder(Varget/4350/4198/4895). I will load this single stage, problem becomes, mounting it to a tripod will require a new stock (KRG, etc). I use AI mags in a few other rifles, so I have plenty. This gun is sub MOA. I will need to mount an extra pic rail for the battery pack, but with the Chassis that wont be an issue. Ballistically I would assume the 90gr ELD-x would be better than the 55gr Amax, but I dont know what velocities Ill end up with on either.

Mounting everything up will be easier/cheaper on the AR, Follow up's will be faster on the AR. The T3 is more accurate (not that it will really matter at 300 yard thermal ranges).

If anyone can give a vote with a pro/con Im not considering that would be great.

What are you going to shoot with this weapon?

AR in 556 - quick follow up shots but less knock down power. 55gr Vmax are great for varmints.

243 bolt gun - more knock down power and accuracy. 90 gr Eld-X would be fantastic right in the neck of a pig.

If you are hunting hogs, I would use the .243 (more knock down).

If you are hunting coyotes, varmints, and small critters - AR all the way.

That's my .02 cents anyhoo.

TC

Originally Posted By: TonesterWhat are you going to shoot with this weapon?