A few AR questions

dirtytough

I'm new to AR's and am going to put together an AR10 in 22 Creed for night hunting. I am going to use an Aero Precision upper/lower. Probably something in the 22" barrel range with a 9 twist. That way I can still shoot lighter weight bullets for max point blank range. Rifle +2. An SLR adjustable gas block. I will put a suppressor on it.

What contour to go with? Even what they call a lightweight contour looks like a heavy enough contour to me compared to what I am used to in bolt rifles.

What length buffer tube and buffer to go with? I was thinking of using the JP Silent Capture.

Thanks for any suggestions. Regards, Branden

Good plans, sounds like a sweet build. I am no expert but agree the barrels seem heavier. I'd go with a pencil or close to it. Fixed length buffer and adjustable PRS style stock is what I like. I finally got an SLR gas block this year and absolutely love it.

Looks like you have the right idea. I've used a couple of x-caliber barrels because they had more options for lighter profile longer barrels than most.

I have some pointers:

1. AR-10s are not as modular as AR-15s. Make sure that all parts fit (check to be sure).

2. SLR adjustable gas block: good choice.

3. Barrel contour. This is the big question. Your suppressor will require a minimum muzzle diameter. That is the shoulder/area right next to the threads. I assume you will have a 1/2x28 thread pitch. I have a Sico Specwar. It requires a minimum muzzle diameter of .725. What suppressor do you have and what is the minimum muzzle diameter for it?

4. Consider your barrel length in this. 22" + a 9" can = 31". That is a very long rig to swing around. I run a very short barrel for night hunting.

I would go with something light enough to hike around but thick enough to meet the suppressor's requirements.

Enjoy!

TC

Last edited: