Truck and camper setup advice?

Coyotejunki

I am planning to retire at the end of the year, and looking to buy a camper to tow behind my Tahoe. I have a 2008 Tahoe LS, 5.3L 4x4, 3.73 gears, trailer package. I am looking at 18ft campers like a KZ , may go as big as a 20'. Does this sound like a reasonable setup for my Tahoe or too much camper. I plan to move around some and hunt here and there.

FWIW, my 2003 Silverado LS 4X4 (same engine, same posi-trac rear end ratio) handled a 26' HiLO on hyway nicely. Never took HiLo off road due to low ground clearance.

The HiLo is a heavy for length trailer but that was probably offset by it's very low wind drag.

Regards,
hm

[img:center][/img]

I think it is important to match up your equipment somewhat, I don't think this guy had the same idea or he got a fast talking salesman.
I am far from an expert but pulled a 20 ft with a gas rig. I found the size to be just comfortable with no trouble getting in or out of places.
The 20 ft made it work a little on mountain passes and I never landed in one of the common graveyards in the windy areas on our side of the state where I have witnessed countless rigs end up. I have even rescued a fair number of those people.
So many add ons to make towing more pleasant now.

Wow, would hate to meet a semi in a strong crosswind in that rig!

That's why I chose the HILO. Wind resistance is a big factor.

That fellow is just asking for trouble, both on & off road with that LWB camper & SWB truck.

Regards,
hm

Originally Posted By: CoyotejunkiI am planning to retire at the end of the year, and looking to buy a camper to tow behind my Tahoe. I have a 2008 Tahoe LS, 5.3L 4x4, 3.73 gears, trailer package. I am looking at 18ft campers like a KZ , may go as big as a 20'. Does this sound like a reasonable setup for my Tahoe or too much camper. I plan to move around some and hunt here and there.

open your door on the truck

theres a sticker on there that has your GVWR and listed how much it can tow.