current quality of 17 Rem brass

I have buying 17 Rem brass from High Plains Brass and have been happy with it. They neck down 5.56 brass to make it. If you have not checked them out it might be worth a look to you.

I just picked up a bag(100) of new old stock rem brass for 25.00. The guy included 18 once fired, I sized the used brass, loaded and shot a couple with no issues. Hoping the 100 count bag is the same. I have used the high plains in my 17 rem upper with good results, don't worry as much about losing that brass in the snow.

Originally Posted By: WyoBullI have buying 17 Rem brass from High Plains Brass and have been happy with it. They neck down 5.56 brass to make it. If you have not checked them out it might be worth a look to you.

Yes indeed. I bought 100 rounds of it a while back and it seems to be better than the R-P brass that I have been using for the last 4 decades. Several years ago I was at gun show in small town and an old man was selling several hundred rounds of fired and some unfired .17 Rem ammo and he wanted $40 for all of it. I gave him his asking price. I dont think I am ever going to run out of it but wanted to try the High Plains stuff anyway.

Thanks for the High Plains experiences. Wondering if their .223 converted to .17 Rem cases came out to the same case length as the original .17 Rem brass. And how consistent were the neck thicknesses?

Originally Posted By: danno in vaThanks for the High Plains experiences. Wondering if their .223 converted to .17 Rem cases came out to the same case length as the original .17 Rem brass. And how consistent were the neck thicknesses?

You can look at their website and read about it but they are consistent and to SAAMI specs.

I think you can order the High plains untrimmed and diy, when I ordered some it came a bit short. Of course the length will change after a firing or 2 as the brass forms to the chamber. I always full length size for my AR's.