.243-55 grain

Quote:I feel that alot of bullet performance can be controlled by velocity. We all tend to go for speed. I've been guilty myself. But I'm no expert by any means.

I'm no expert by any means either, but.
In my 6mm rem, the Varmagedens don't "Splash" at 4200 fps.
They have a tendency to try and push the onside shoulder out the offside shoulder. I try never to it a shoulder. I would not call it the best fur-friendly caliber, with any bullet.

i have shot coyotes with 58 and 60 grain bullets out of the .243. i prefer 70 grain ballistic tips. all of them work quite well. i have several 10 twist .243. the 95 and 100 grain nosler partitions are awesome for deer. also killed 3 antelope and two elk with them.

Mine shot real well with 58gr barnes and h380 powder at just over 4000fps.i stopped using it and went with 70gr bullets and a mild load to save the barrel.

I just got a shipment of some nosler 55 for the 243. Will try work on some varget loads and see what they do. Might work some up in the 6x45 too.

Great post Acronin... wish I was in NE right now chasing those furry critters.

When I shot coyotes with the 243..it was with Sierra 60gr HP. Those Boys up in ND got me started using them because they killed a lot of coyotes and deer with that bullet, and they were fur saving Guys...I wasn't, but just wanted a bullet that was known to work well... I even killed two doe deer with it...lung hits... yet, not my deer bullet recommendation. The problem with that bullet is that it's just not SEXY...it's not the new thing on the block... but it's dependable. After reading this thread, along with Acronin's detailed post...it's a wonder why we shoot any other caliber than the 243... it just works... with dependability.

Originally Posted By: dan brothersGreat post Acronin... wish I was in NE right now chasing those furry critters.