Filling Feeders

Coyote#1

I'm new to hog hunting & just started using a feeder. Don't have a huge hog population & I'm hunting public land so the hogs are likely pretty wise. Anyhow, is it a good idea to fill my feeder while it's raining to help eliminate human scent or am I over thinking it?

My camera has yet to picture a hog & all the deer thats visiting are looking up at the 5 gal feeder in the pics. I found sign that the hogs have visited the area, but none on camera yet. Not sure why they aren't coming in to the feeder?? Any suggestions??

Don’t worry too much about scent. I have had them come to the feeder within minutes of me standing under it.

What kind of public land is it that lets you put up a feeder? Can’t do that here on public land.

I'm hunting near my home, but also WMA (wildlife management area)
that requires only a $15 annual fee, so as you can imagine lots of folks hunt there. After modern deer season + all the quota hunts thats held, the animals get pretty skittish! So I was hoping to maybe get a hog before it starts in Nov.. Guess I need to be a little more patient! the feeder has been out for only a little over a month so I am probably rushing things.

Thanks for tips

Lol, guess I am over thinking it! You got the Pickens there..

BTW, that price for the WMA permit is a mis-quote! Its a 25.00 annual fee.. This is the first yr I've hunted there in several yrs.

Originally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotyou can put a feeder on a wma?

No feeders or baiting on public land in Okla. Salt blocks I think are legal but not 100% sure of that.

Originally Posted By: pyscodogOriginally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotyou can put a feeder on a wma?

No feeders or baiting on public land in Okla. Salt blocks I think are legal but not 100% sure of that.

I'm not sure about the salt block on WMA either.. Not sure if salt would attract a hog?? I read some where they don't sweat so salt blocks are of little use. Yellowhammer can probably tell us..