Pistol Reloading Question

CalCoyote

I realize this may be a dumb question so please be kind in your responses:

I have been reloading for 11 years and consider myself intermediate. I reload for the 222, 22-250, 243, 257 Roy, 260 Rem, 270 Win, 308, and a few others. I am FAR from being and expert but feel I have a pretty good grasp of the reloading process. BUT, having said that I know almost NOTHING about reloading pistol cartridges.

Due to the current civil unrest here in Oregon I am bit uncomfortable with the small amount of 9mm ammo self defense I have on hand and there is none available, but I do have a several boxes of 124 grain practice FMJ ammo. I also have brass, bullets, and powder, but no primers and no source to buy any.

Here is my question:
My factory loaded Remington green box practice ammo is not loaded very hot. If I were to pull the 124g FMJ bullets while leaving the existing factory loaded powder in the case, would it be safe for me to just seat some Hornady 124g hollow point bullets and just re-crimp and be ready to shoot? I would basically be replacing the 124g FMJ a hollow point of equal weight. Would that be safe or not a good idea?

It would likely work, but to be safe, I would reduce the powder charge 10%.. The reason is the replacement bullets bearing surface could cause you problems with pressure Which will cause cycling problems. If you have a way to measure bearing surface that would be ideal.

I seem to recall doing the same thing many years ago and if I recall correctly, it didn't work for [beeep].
A good option for you is to pull the bullet and dump the factory powder. You don't know what it is anyway.
Remove the decapping pin from the sizing die and resize the case without punching out that precious primer. Them proceed to load with your own charge and bullet choice.

I assume you have a carbide sizer die and a taper crimp die, right?