Thunder Beast ULTRA 9??

johncraddock445

Anyone have one of these? I took the plunge about a month ago due to all of the published DB info. I currently have a couple F1 10'' cans which have been great. I'm wondering how the ultra 9 does in comparison. I would be awfully disapointed if the F1's out perform the ultra 9...

Last edited:
You won't be disappointed, I shoot 6.5 creedmoor,grendel and 22.250 out of my ultra 9.
Best 9 inch can on the market IMO,
Don't think you will find any form 1 cans that will perform as good as this one ,Quiet and repeatable accuracy are what sells this can,not to mention it's also pretty lite

Last edited:
I have no experience with F1's but have an Ultra 9 in .338 and an ultra 7 in 6.5. I am very pleased with both. I'm really thinking about getting and 30 cal thunderbeast ultra 7 or 9. I have two OSS in "jail" and probably won't see them until 2021. If I'm not happy with them, I'll probably order another thunder beast. The only thing I don't like about the thunder beast is there is significant "blow back" on my ARs. I'm hoping the OSS is better on the AR's.

I have the ultra 7 and 9 in 30 caliber.. I use on ARs and bolt actions from 204 to 30 caliber and love them! They don’t have a negative impact on group sizes and I use for prairie dog, deer, and hog hunting. You can address the blowback with an adjustable gas block. Gemtech also makes a suppressed bolt carrier. It has a setting for suppressed and unsuppressed. My SBR with a 9 threw brass a LONG ways. Much better with the adjustable bolt carrier. My 20” AR 223 works fine with the 7” in standard configuration.