New XQ50 Thermion

JTPinTX

Custom Call Maker
I got my XQ50 Thermion in and got it mounted up on Sunday. I haven't got to hunt with it yet but I have shot it some and zeroed it, and have played with it quite a bit from my front yard. We have a field across the street with donkeys, goats and cattle at ranges of out to 250 yards. That has let me play with different colors, reticles, and settings while viewing live animals.

First off I will say I really like the American Defense mount I have the Thermion mounted in. It is a very solid QD mount that guarantees return to zero. It is easy to adjust the lever tension and you can also flip the levers to whatever orientation you like. Mine is the Recon mount.

I had a XQ50 Trail LRF for about a month and played with/shot it quite a bit during that time period. I am no thermal expert by far. All of my observations are based on that limited experience, so take them however you want. Even though the Thermion is supposed to weigh about the same as the Trail, to me it balances much better on the rifle. It feels good and looks good on there.

To me the image on the Thermion is slightly better than the Trail as well. Nothing earth shattering, but I do think it is better. Of course that could just be the way I have settings adjusted too.

During the day I think a guy is still going to want to run black hot/white hot color palette because they are a much brighter screen, and that helps overcome the bleed of outside light coming in around the rubber eye cup. However at night I am finding myself really liking the red monochrome color option. It might not have quite the detail of white hot/black hot, but it has other advantages. One advantage is it is a lot easier on the eyes, it does not create near as much eye strain for me during extended viewing. Another benefit is if you wear glasses or prefer not to use the eye cup at night, the red monochrome does not light up your face near as much as white hot/black hot either.