need some help???

Bear

I've been reloading for 35 years and have a first time problem. I"m loading for a new Savage Axis 22-250 and here is my problem, the reloads won't chamber, I mean the bolt closes hard and they get stuck in the chamber. I've full length resized them with a small base die,trimmed them .007 under trim to length,and made sure the bullet is not hitting the rifling. They won't cycle loaded or fired. What else can I do or try??
unsure.gif

Your bolt may be binding. As in too rough and needs some polishing. I had same rifle that did similar. Took to local old time smith n thats what he found. He fixed it. It may not be your loads at all.

Did you rotate the bolt face, or reassemble incorrectly. Have had one Savage 22-250 that a fired, from same rifle, case would not chamber again. Noticed scratches on the neck, there were 3 small burrs in the chamber neck. Smith cleaned them up with a reamer. Some reloaded rounds also would not chamber properly.

It may be apples and oranges.....Some time ago I bought a Savage Mod12,308. It was suppose to be
"like new" and it looked like it. Brought it home, cleaned it good, mounted a scope, all the things you normally do with a new to me rifle. I loaded up 20 or so rounds of 168 SMK's to 2.800 which is a pretty normal length for a 308. Got to the range and had the same issues as your having, I couldn't close the bolt. Went home and got my OAL gauge out with a 168SMK and the throat was way short. Either Savage cut a short throat in this rifle or someone had it set way back. My smith ran a SAMMI reamer in it and recut the chamber and fixed the problem.

You might want to check your OAL, it might be the same problem. Is there any marks on the bullet? Mine looked like it was jammed an eighth of an inch.