Coon Calling - Help

Daman

Guys I am considering getting into coon calling and need some help. I have trapped coons with reasonable success and enjoy doing so but I like hunting and think this would add another thing for me.

What calls are you using? I’m fine with using a tube or mouth call. I don’t have a foxpro.

What gun are you using? I’m thinking 22 Mag rifle and/or a shotgun.

I will be calling a pine plantation, creek bottoms, and branches in south Alabama.

I am no expert at Coon Calling, i am sure many are here on this site, it may take some time for the experts to help you along the way.!

If i were to call Coons i would think that Coon Distress, Coon Fight or Coon Cries would probably work.

I would also think that Thermal at night would be a good option if legal in your State? From what i have seen, watery areas and old homesteads are where most Coons hangout.

Best of luck to you!

Originally Posted By: HellgateAbandoned derelict homesteads are callable during the daytime. There are several videos of daytime coon calling.

There you go:)

I've had the best luck calling them at night in Texas. In Oklahoma it's against the law so I call late in the evening here. Junk piles and old homesteads or anywhere near a creek or pond surrounded by good cover for them are good places to call.

Raccoon fight and raccoon in distress work good. I start out with raccoon in distress because sometimes the females are more timid and some males aren't looking for a fight but will still come in to see what the noise is all about. A .22mag using 40 or 45 grain hollowpoints,12 gauge and .223 have all done well for me. I've probably killed a few hundred with the .22mag. In my experience it does a lot better than the .17hmr on heavier bodied raccoons.

Thanks guys!

I’ll definitely be using a 22 Mag, either a 9422M or a 922M.

I have a Creek swamp as the northern boundary on my property and there is an old homestead place that has a highland pond too.