Dog food for coyote bait.

jnd

Can dog food be used for coyote bait also can something be added to increase smell to get them to find the bait.
Joe

Last edited:
Lot of guys have had good luck with dog food. Me, not so much. As already stated, the coons and possum have it vacuumed up the first night. Beaver, muskrat, and deer carcass are my go to for coyotes.

I've been using cheap dry dog food for about 10 years now with decent success. Always seem to have a few table scraps or bacon fat soaked paper towels to add to the mix. Have a steady supply of fox, coons, possums that come up each night and partake. I dont really mind because the critters that show up are my early warning system when a coyote is in the area as they run off or go straight up a tree. Plus I enjoy reviewing the game cameras overseeing the area each morning to not only take the dog for a walk but to monitor when the coyotes show up. When they do, I usually monitor for frequency and hopefully train them to come partake of a free meal before 11pm because I get sleepy after that. I need to find a local grill that will give me a steady supply of bacon grease that I can throw out there as they seem to like that. I toss out 3 or 4 reasonably large scoops of dry dog food nightly.

How would it work if used some canned dog or cat food, watered it down, then put that on ground, letting it soak it? The other animals could eat the pieces on ground, but the scent would remain. Sorta like the stuff they make for deer, that you actually stir into soil, makes the deer keep coming back, digging & licking the dirt. Or, just stop at local KFC or McDonalds for a bucket of old grease from the fryer.

I put dog food in a 5 gallon bucket deer feeder last year and had some success with it. Coons, foxes, buzzards and possums got a lot. But, occasionally a coyote died there.