Hi, everyone I need your expert opinion ...

carper1

First off I am an old guy that has never owned an AR. I am looking for a coyote hunting AR rifle. I like the looks and description of the Rock River but am wondering ??
Can I build one as good or better for less money ? and what components would you suggest. I thank you for your time. Dennis

Last edited:
I am no expert but....

I would recommend a 1st time AR owner to just buy a complete rifle from a good company.
If you like tinkering and learning, and are prepared to "go to school" on how everything works and such, by all means... Start buying up parts and pieces.

You may even consider an 80% lower.

The easiest and fastest way to get shooting is to just buy a complete rifle. Keep the chamber clean, and the BCG group oiled.

Easy...

If I had it to do all over again I would just get a Ruger MPR which has most of the bells, whistles, and accuracy at a decent price. There is a certain joy in building your own though. After spending time & $$ on uppers & triggers I now primarily use a Remington R-15 as my calling rifle. It was used @$700 but is a tack driver that shoots several handloads under 1 MOA into the same POI. I have read nothing but praise for the RRA rifles but they were too spendy for me.

Last edited:
What complete guns you thinking ?? the RR price is as high as I would want to. I am thinking 223 20 in. BBl. I like rifles on the heavy side. I have nothing against buying a well cared for used gun either. Tks

I have good luck with Stag, my brother has a Rock River that shoots great, too. Not sure about current markets for them and what they are bringing.

If you have a little time and an inclination to tinker building one from parts is not too difficult. Spend the $$ on a good barrel and trigger and then you can build with various more budget friendly parts for the rest of the gun in my experience. The heavier rifles are a little easier to shoot seems like to me.