Digital Powder Dispenser vs. Powder Measures

OK guys, I'm confused, which is not too hard to achieve. I have been reloading rifle, pistol and shotgun for well over 50 years. I have always worked under the assumption that so long as one achieved consistent powder charges, irrespective of how, that is what is important. Why would I care whether they are "thrown" or "trickeled" so long as they were accurate and consistent? I am not talking about time or convenience here. ?????

Claimbuster,

I got the 1500 combo. I love it. My loads are spot on all the time with it. You don't have to "throw" your load with the powder dispenser and the "trickle" in the the last few grains to make it balance on the old beam scale.

You simply push the dispense button and get a perfect powder charge every time...

Is it worth the money, I think so. Do you need it, NO. Does it make it easier and as accurate, YES.

It is faster, as accurate if not more so, and to me a benefit in my reloading. My ES went down, my Hi/lo spread tightened up and my groups are more consistent.

Just my opinion. But, I say buy the 1500 combo. There are many great and time saving features. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

claimbuster,
It may not seem logical but the benchrest competition shooters have pretty much proven that volume measured charges are more accurate under 300 yards.

Lots of guesses why. But the winners are not weighing charges. It is hard to argue with success. At ranges beyond 300 weighed charges are better because they have less SD. SD is increasingly important with range, no big deal at shorter ranges.

Jack

Quote:
claimbuster,
It may not seem logical but the benchrest competition shooters have pretty much proven that volume measured charges are more accurate under 300 yards.