newbie here, looking for electronic Call options....

stef

Hi. I'm an older guy now looking to go hunting Coyotes, once a year, maybe twice. (what else to do with this corona virus...) maybe more often if I like it...
We deer hunt on a rented property. Very Very dense tree cover. no shots over 50 yards most of the time (Quebec, Canada)
But... there's a large frozen beaver pond at he end of the land. I would say easily 500 yards x 150 y wide
Now I have zero experience with Coyote hunting...
my intention is to put a electronic moving decoy in the middle of the lake, next to a loud speaker call, and wait, and screening the edge of the wood for coyotes...
what do you recommend for a guy like me ? something that wont' brake the bank too much, but won't be a piece of crap also.....
-Would you pair the electronic call with a mouth call ?
-Would you set the decoy in the middle of the lake?
Thanks for your help ?
Stef

Welcome to the insanity. I wish I could make suggestions but I dont call them. I bait them and only hunt at night.

There are some very knowledgeable folks that I'm sure will chime in soon and give you some suggestions.

All I can say is get out there and try coyote hunting and learn something new every single time...I sure do.

Get some handcalls, wind often dictates where you sit or put a call or decoy which can be controversial as to effectiveness.
Try some reputable coyote hunting DVD's and save some frustration.

Welcome to the addiction and sometimes madness, I use e-caller and mouth calls, FoxPro has some great e-calls at good prices and some have decoys that attach to them there are other makes that work great too. Your setup is more important at least I think it is, try to keep the wind in or crossing you and make sure you can see some or all of your downwind area.