Summer time coyote hunting

This is going to be my first year really calling in the “off season” . Really it is my first year predator hunting at all . I’ve done pretty well with two grey foxes and 4 coyotes my first year . All my calling is done during the day . All of my harvests have been with the shotgun . I’m just looking for any tips on summer time coyote hunting . I know some people don’t agree with hunting the summer but I hunt on the farms I hunt deer on . So any dead coyote saves a fawn or two. So any tips world help a lot . Also I should state my hunting is done in Connecticut and mass

Last edited:
I know this . I’ll be doing my summer hunting in Connecticut . On both state and private land . I am just looking for tips on the tactics for summer time coyote calling

Never have hunted summer yet, though I hope to in NH later this year. I saw some summer hunting on the outdoor channel a couple years ago, they were calling in Vermont using rabbit distress, and I think pup distress. Also many turkey hunters call coyotes every year, so there is a clue. Also if those farmers cut hay coyotes will be mousing along the windrows. And be sure to watch out for ticks. Keep us posted on kills and sightings. Good luck!

I shot two coyotes on turkey set ups last spring . If you’d like we could link up and hunt nh or ct together . I’m always looking for good hunting buddies . And with just getting into predator calling the more friends I can make the better it will go

I don't hunt coyotes during the spring or summer but I'd be willing to bet the same sounds that work in fall and winter will work in spring and summer. Maybe getting elevated with a climbing tree stand would be good also to stay above the new growth