Having problems bumping the shoulder back!

gpjohnson

I am fairly new to reloading and I am having difficulty bumping the shoulder back on my brass on different calibers that I shoot. My primary problems are with 22-250, 270 Win, 7mm Rem Mag, and 7mm Weatherby Mag. The problem I’m having is that the shoulder actually grows aprox .001 to .002 after full length resizing. It is actually longer after resizing than before. I am using a new MEC Marksman Press, RCBS F/L Dies and shell holders and the Hornady Headspace Comparator Gage. I am only looking to bump the shoulders back .001 to .002 from the average of fired brass. I set up my dies all the same by placing the shell holder in the ram, move the ram to the up position, then screw the die down until it touches the shell holder. Resize a piece of brass and check the headspace and I also use a case gage. I adjust or turn the die down a 1/16 to 1/8 turn in an attempt to achieve the results I desire. I do not know what else to do differently?
Thanks for your suggestions.

Gil

It's normal for brass to come out of a FL die longer, as you're describing, until you have the FL die screwed down far enough for the shoulder to come in contact with the die. You need to continue screwing the die in until it starts to push the should back the desired amount you are looking for. It generally takes the FL die being screwed in past, just contacting the shell holder, before you reach push back on the shoulder. I can't think of any FL die that I have that doesn't require the die being screwed down to where I have a little cam over on my press.

The big question does your sized brass chamber easily? If so you don't want to set the shoulder back anymore.

To have the same problem with all your brass it sounds like you are having a set up problem somewhere.

You can black the shoulder of your brass and see if it is actually is hitting the top of the die.

Last edited: