Introduction from MN and ?

Cephus

I am somewhat new to predator hunting. Been at it for only a couple years. I primarily hunt MN but will venture out to sd and ks when I can.
Look forward to learning more from all of you.
I think that the coyotes around where I hunt (wright county) are not very vocal compared to other states I hunt. If I play vocal sounds, I get zero response. I know they are there because they will come in to distress sounds. Am I doing something wrong? I often wonder if it's because we are close to towns. When hunting other states I can hear them howling.

Thanks to any Input

Everyone in this area picked up a foxpro, 2 or 3 years ago they were much more vocal. The few days during and before this previous full moon were the most vocal I've heard them in years.

I guess thats what I have noticed. I did start 3 years ago and I agree. When we howled you would hear them everywhere. This year, very seldom do we hear anything. I have never hunted at night but will go scouting. we might get a response, but rare. Glad to hear its not just me. Thought I was doing something I shouldn't.

Sounds like you have the same problem i do where i hunt they are call shy they have had the kitchen sink threw at them and they just sit quietly and listen.last year I went out on a early morning hunt. On my way to my stand location and the 1/2 mile walk i could hear another hunter with his ecaller echoing through the 3000 acre property and you would not believe how unrealistic it sounded from howls to rabbit distress to howls again for a hour straight.I set up and waited for the guys batteries to die then i turned on a kid goat distress just loud enough to hear and i had taker within 45 seconds i didn't seal the deal but that told me do exactly the opposite of everyone else.