Question on a FLIR 64 hand held thermo.

NDAR15MAN

Folks.... I think I posted a question like this 6 or 7 years ago and was hoping some new technology has come out along the way . Do they make a bracket or a attachment that I can put on my FLIR 64 hand held thermal unit on and wear it and scan as a helmet or a hat or hard hat unit / device ? I was hoping some one has come up with some ideas that would work.Your thoughts and ideas please. Thanks. Marty

NDAR15MAN,

I don't have an answer but I will tell you what Tom Austin told me. I have zero experience going hands-free. When the Hogster came out, I was determined to find a way to run it hands-free. I thought what a great option, a small thermal that can be used hands-free, as a handheld scanner, and a weapon's sight.

After figuring out what I thought I needed to put it all together, I asked Tom will this work. His answer was, yes it should all work together. However, just because it would physically work, doesn't mean you should do it. He said due to the weight of the Hogster, and the counter-weight required, it would feel like your head was being squeezed in a vice. After he told me this, I decided to drop the project.

My experience may not apply to your situation, but it may. Most compact thermals could somehow be MacGyver'd into a solution whether it should be or not.

#1 Its too heavy. Can you do it? Yes. Will you like it, No.
#2 It's too big, you can't wear it and then switch to a gun without it getting in the way unless you take the time to either Rotate it out of the way or remove it. Can you do it, yes. Will you like it, no.
The FLIR Breach is designed to be used helmet mounted but I have never tried it.

Last edited:
FLIR M-24 640 30 Hz works great.

M24%20Helmet%20Front.jpg

M24%20Selfie.jpg