Question on setting up my tripod for NV set up

NDAR15MAN

I have a D760 on a Bushmaster 223 16 inch barrel and a hand held FLIR 64.
I used it 10 times in 8 years. It’s a shame. Health issues. But I am going to retire in couple years and want to up grade my tripod while I will have the money. Now i use a MOG-POD I think it’s called with a yoke. Want to go with a ball head set up like the BH-55.
I will have to replace my floating hand guard because it is a old style slick floating hand guard. Question.... should I use the new new Mod- Key style for attachment of tripod gear like a BH-55 or picanney attachment style and should it go full length of hand guard ? Thanks. MD

Last edited:
While I do believe that a direct mount is more stable, you could go with either a Hog Saddle or a reaper Grip. With the clamp style you won't have to change your forearm.

Kopfjager offers a pretty decent tripod/grip combo for about $400.00. It is basically a Slik 700 tripod with your choice of the pan/tilt Reaper Grip clamp style (I have this set up) or the pan/tilt/cant picatinny direct mount. I've not used this new direct mount design but it looks pretty slick. You won't need a ball head with either of the two above.
https://www.kopfjagerindustries.com/online-store/K700-AMT-Tripod-with-Reaper-Rail-p151353643

I have another tripod with a ball head that I direct mount to a picattinny rail on the bottom of my rifle. My rail runs full length but depending on where your balance point is you really only need a 5 section rail. Unless you're using a suppressor the balance point will be almost as far back on the hand guard as you can get it.

That is my 300 BO SBR. Silk tripod with a CRETAC clamp.
The metal ball head and metal clap. Specwar 7,62 can.
ATN N/V 4K scope 5X20.

2MEMq0l.jpg