How to ruin good deer meat

pyscodog

I spent some time today at the hospital, not me, I'm fine, but with the ex. As we were leaving, a nurse came in and her and the ex were talking about healthy eating, what meat is good and what is bad. After a few minutes of listening, I figured she was a borderline vegan. Not full blown but dang close. The subject of deer meat being a healthy red meat was brought up and of course the "Gamey" taste. I told her if it tasted gamey it wasn't cooked or butchered correctly. Her way of cooking was to rinse the blood off then boil the meat. After it was cooked, drain the water and then rinse again. Then add it to chili or whatever. I thought why don't you just boil a turd and give the meat to someone that appreciates it. I've been hunting and eating deer meat for close to 50 years and I don't seem to notice a gamey taste. Just finished off a roast tonite and had venison stew last week. Dang good even if I do say so myself!!

Most people who aren't use to eating venison seem to think that it must be gamey since it doesn't taste like beef.
Can't speak for whitetail since I've never had any, only mule deer.
But i agree with what you are saying.
I worked with a yankee that swore up and down he couldn't eat venison due to taste.
I made him a sandwich with some bottled venison and he sat and argued with me and swearing that i gave him a roast beef sandwich. I did the same with my cousin and his kids. They all loved it. Even my cousin who swears he can't stand venison.

I'll take a mature mule deer buck everytime for sheer volume over most whitetails, or blacktails.
For quality of meat I will take a whitail doe first.
I will take elk over all three.
Recently cooked fresh whitetail for several couples and they still think they were dining at a five star restaurant.

On another scary side I have seen guys transport muley's home multi state, hide on, wrapped in a sleeping bag on top of the vehicle during the fall.