Fur buyers in Utah

vlyoter

I am new to predator hunting, just really got into it this past fall. I have killed 2 very good looking Bobcats and 6 Coyotes, but don't where to sell the hides. Is there anyone who buys the bobcats without skinning, I currently have them frozen

Go on over to All Predator Calls.com and pick up a copy of "Hunting and Skinning for Profit" from Blaine Eddy. It isn't a "Holywood" production but the content is worth many times the cost. Especially if you already have animals to put up.

There is a fur buyer in Grand Junction, CO that is taking fur right now. He used to take bobcat in the carcass, but I'll ask him tomorrow if he still does. I know he wants them sealed before he'll take them.

Where in NE Utah are you? Grand Junction isn't real far from Vernal, 2-3 hours depending on weather and truck traffic over Douglas Pass.

Just go to the local DWR office in your area they keep a record of all current Fur Buyers in the whole state.

We have to record all green pelts with them when they sell to others, or if we ship them out of state, example for tanning.

We also have to supply a record of all pelts bought during the season and year.

Nope I'm not buying any this season. Building a new home and it's taking all of my time! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Sorry have to disagree with your assesment of Montgomery, I believe he grades smartly, not hard!!

You don't stay in a fur business as long as he has without knowing how to grade fur. Besides many people just do not have any idea what fur is worth and always expect top prices from reading reports(usually always off due to print deadlines) or talking with others who usually only give a single price instead of an average overall.

He also grades for selling his fur and not manufacturing as I do as a end user, quite a difference in the quote of price.

He is a swell guy and will give you a fair price!!