Couple thermal questions

dirtytough

Ok first off I have zero experience using thermal. I would be using it for coyotes in ND. I’ve read up on it a bit.

There is obviously a big range when it comes to prices. I was planning on getting a good scanner like the Helion 640 XP38, and something not quite as good for a sight. The HOGSTER R 384 2.0-8.0x35mm was kinda what I was leaning towards.

That’s around $6500 going off NG’s prices. Or I could get a REAP-IR 35mm Mini Thermal Riflescope for around $5600.

Does anyone use one thermal for scope and scanner? I would want to use it handheld and as soon as I spot something I would mount it on the rifle. Or is that not feasible?

I assume the Reap is the better thermal of those listed. But which way would be better for killing? Scope plus scanner or one unit? I could get the Reap and a lower grade scanner. But it seems like the scanner would be used more then the scope. That’s why I figured I would get a better scanner then scope.

Regards, Branden

Lots of ND traffic on here recently. I may be drumming up too much ND interest in thermal hunting
unsure.gif

I hear so many people say for a scanner all I care about is seeing something hot and then switch over to my gun. I agree, but here is where I don't. You will be looking through your thermal 95-98% of the time. It is what I use to verify calling locations, help finding the place to set up, scan during the stand, find the coyote after the kill, and find my way back to the truck. It sounds like you have a similar philosophy based on your post.